If you wait for perfect conditions you will never get things done

 

perfectconditions

 

As you know I am a “Bible banger” and proud of it because there is a lot of wisdom found in the Bible.

One passage I heard last week hit me and inspired me to write this week’s Kickstart.

That passage is found in Ecclesiastes 11:4. It states “If you wait for perfect conditions you will never get anything done.”

This book was written by Solomon who is considered the great wise man of the Bible and this still rings true today.

Being a fitness business owner, I’m used to hearing excuse after excuse.

When (blank) happens then I’ll get started. Then (blank) happens and then you ask again and it’s now when (blank #2) happens.

On and on this dance goes and pretty soon days, weeks, months and years go by and nothing ever gets done.

I’ve been to several timeshare presentations where I got a lot of free stuff for enduring the “90 minute presentation” which really feels like 90 hours.  But one guy who was trying to close us, had a great comment.  He said “When in life will the stoplights all be green?”

Short answer is…NEVER.

Life is short so ask yourself this:  What really matters?

Is it getting the laundry done? Or cleaning your house? Truth is, the house will always need to be cleaned and laundry will keep piling up and other people can do their own damn laundry, so quit doing it for them.

Is it completing your “to do ” list of mundane busy work?  There will always be “to dos” but do they fill you up or drain you out?

Is it people pleasing so everyone “likes” you even though you loathe it?  You can’t please 100% of the people 100% of the time.

Is it when you will have more time?  Ha ha ha this laughable. You don’t find time.  You make time for what is important. See above. Is that crap what eats up your time?  You can get money back but not time.  So spend it wisely.

Or how about when money is not tight? Just like time, if you really want to do something you will find a way if it is truly a priority.  Honestly look at what you spend in other areas of your life to see where can you cut back. What can you do to come up with extra money?  Sell that ugly sofa on Craig’s list or drive some Uber.   In any case, there are ways to make more and save money in other areas. If you are serious you will find a way.

So to wrap this up my closing point is this: “What are you holding back on because of waiting for “perfect” conditions?” Guess what? It will never happen unless you take initiative and make it happen.  No one will do it for you. There are opportunities all around if you look.

Here is a great story to end on:

A very religious man was once caught in rising floodwaters. He climbed onto the roof of his house and trusted God to rescue him. A neighbor came by in a canoe and said, “The waters will soon be above your house. Hop in and we’ll paddle to safety.”

“No thanks” replied the religious man. “I’ve prayed to God and I’m sure he will save me”

A short time later the police came by in a boat. “The waters will soon be above your house. Hop in and we’ll take you to safety.”

“No thanks” replied the religious man. “I’ve prayed to God and I’m sure he will save me”

A little time later a rescue services helicopter hovered overhead, let down a rope ladder and said. “The waters will soon be above your house. Climb the ladder and we’ll fly you to safety.”

“No thanks” replied the religious man. “I’ve prayed to God and I’m sure he will save me”

All this time the floodwaters continued to rise, until soon they reached above the roof and the religious man drowned. When he arrived at heaven he demanded an audience with God. Ushered into God’s throne room he said, “Lord, why am I here in heaven? I prayed for you to save me, I trusted you to save me from that flood.”

“Yes you did my child” replied the Lord. “And I sent you a canoe, a boat and a helicopter. But you never got in.”

So true. Opportunities and resources are all around if we just start looking and focusing.

Life wasn’t made to be lived small so live BIG!

Go out there and make things happen!

Author: Puravda Fitness

Erik Peacock has always had a passion for health and wellness. Erik began his personal training career working for Northwest Athletic Club (since acquired by Life Time Fitness.) His passion and knowledge enabled him to become one of the top trainers while managing a training staff. Although doing extremely well at Northwest, he envisioned a place where he could make a difference in people's lives outside of the constraints of the corporate world. In 2005, Erik left a lucrative personal training career to open up his own studio, Puravida Fitness.

Leave a comment